Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Acquired modifier
05-26-2015, 02:13 PM
Post: #1
Acquired modifier
On the direct fire modifier table there is a modifier for Acquired Target.

I can't find much mention in the rules about this.

What constitutes an acquired target? Any target fired on in the previous shooting step, hit or not, is now acquired by that shooter?

Can a shooter go from taking a snap shot to having acquired a target, or is the proper sequence of going from spotted/snap shot at, to fired-at with no snap shot penalty, to a subsequent shot getting the acquired bonus require three shooting phases?

Can any direct fire shooter (tank, gun, infantry team or squad, helo) "acquire" any single target? Can it acquire multiple targets simultaneously?

When is acquisition lost?

Can acquisition be attained on a moving target? When the shooter is moving? When they are both moving?

Thanks

--Andy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-27-2015, 09:54 PM
Post: #2
RE: Acquired modifier
(05-26-2015 02:13 PM)abouffard Wrote:  On the direct fire modifier table there is a modifier for Acquired Target.

I can't find much mention in the rules about this.

What constitutes an acquired target? Any target fired on in the previous shooting step, hit or not, is now acquired by that shooter?

An acquired target is one which a unit has taken a non-snap shot at, regardless if it hit or missed. The intent of this modifier is that the firing unit is able to adjust their fire based off of where they see their round(s) hitting down range. These initial shots are sometimes referred to as "sensing rounds" because they give you an indication of any adjustments that need to be made to your aim point.


Can a shooter go from taking a snap shot to having acquired a target, or is the proper sequence of going from spotted/snap shot at, to fired-at with no snap shot penalty, to a subsequent shot getting the acquired bonus require three shooting phases?

Snap shot --> Non-snap shot --> Acquired target

Can any direct fire shooter (tank, gun, infantry team or squad, helo) "acquire" any single target? Can it acquire multiple targets simultaneously?

Yes, the acquisition modifier applies to any unit engaging in direct fire combat. It does not apply to indirect fire or close combat. Since you are acquiring a better firing solution through adjusting the fall of your shots, it can only be applied to the target that you are firing at.

When is acquisition lost?

Acquisition is lost when a target is destroyed or when LOS to the target is blocked. A temporary blockage in the course of a Fire/Move segment does not count towards losing acquisition. The target must be out of LOS at the end of the Fire/Move segment to have acquisition lost.


Can acquisition be attained on a moving target? When the shooter is moving? When they are both moving?

Yes to all three.
Acquisition on a moving target partly involves being able to lead it properly, so the acquisition bonus works to negate the moving target penalty.
Acquisition when the firer is moving represents the gunner being able to better judge the movement relative to the target.
Acquisition when both are moving is a combination of the first two points.


Thanks

--Andy
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)